44

Once there was a mother who wanted to pull a harmless prank on her husband.  She would teach her very young and innocent son to respond to two questions.  To “how old is Mommy?” the hapless pawn would say “Nineteen!”  while to “How old is Daddy?” he would say “Forty four!”

The second part was quite easy.  Forty four was the channel on which the little sap’s favorite T.V. Show, Spider-man, was on.  He liked to say that number.

Nineteen took a while.

In the end, though, he did as he was bade.  And on the big day he preformed just as his mother hoped.

One time.

According to his mother later, the loyal lad took one look at his father’s expression after the prank was played and knew he had done wrong.  There after the numbers were reassigned, much quicker this time than last, and then they all live happily ever after.

More or less.

I never thought I’d make it to forty four.  Not that there was anything major ever standing in my way between then and now.  Except for one semi truck I hadn’t noticed when crossing the street.  And the trees I fell out of.  And the lake I was pushed into before I knew how to swim.  And the time I fell backwards over a fence.

Actually, now that I think about it, how did I make it this long?  I’m really kind of annoying on top of that.  Surely someone’s thought of taking me out a time or two.   It tis a puzzlement, tis.

Any way, glad I made it this long.  Hope to make it a ways longer.

And now, because I simply can’t ever get enough of it:

Leave a Reply

