Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXVII): Unnecessary Work Undone and Other Tales That Witness Madness

Unnecessary Work Undone

Let me show you something:gs-development-067

gs-switch-002Last month I talked about Switches.  Specifically I talked about my Stage Direction Switches, Switches I used to control cut scenes.

Now, as they will be used throughout the game, I figured I needed something to shut them all off, making them usable for the next cut scene.  Thus I hammered out the above Common Event.  When running, the Common Event will turn off all my switches.  This particular one covers other things, such as variables and the like.

Very nice.  Very handy.

Now let me show you what I discovered last night:gs-development-068

Bear in mind I’ve used the Control Variable window here.  A lot.  So I’ve seen these options.  A lot.

That range option?  The numbers involved?  That’s like the Variables given name.  What I call SD: A is actually Variable 2 (or, to be precise, Variable #0002)

This nice little feature is also in Control Switch flavor.

Which means I’ve done a goodly amount of work for no real reason.

In multiple projects.

Anyway, this:

gs-development-067

Now looks like this:

gs-development-069

My great triumph of the weekend.  He sighs irritably.

Moving the Plot Along (Kind of)

I made mention a few updates back that I had a cut scene made.  As it keeps you in formed of where the plot is (in its basic form, natch), I figured I’d let you in on it.

morty

The cut scene pops up the moment Our Heroes step off the row-boat at their destination, taking the Player all the way back to the church.  There, no matter what Path they’re on (for the curious, this explains that), Mortimer will be the one in the church, doing whatever he does when there when no one’s around.  Practice sermons, maybe.  Or polish something.

No matter what it is, it’s by the book.  It is his way, after all.

val

Only a moment is spent setting up the scene.  Then into the church comes a purple haired young woman.  It’s our last playable character, Val.

Val is there to borrow the church’s row-boat.  The very same boat our Heroes have taken.  Learning this doesn’t please her.  But that’s nothing compared to learning a certain red-headed Goblinstomper was the one who claimed the boat.

Her response to this is a rather interesting “Not again!”

And that’s the scene as it stands today.

Screaming At the Screen

And now back to impotent rage.

But first!  Check this out:

gs-development-070

This is the first floor of the Genruitow Tower, where our Heroes were head for.  Or, rather, it was.  Originally.  These days I’m all about the Puzzles, and I felt I needed some space to puzzle things out.

So today I did a quick reworking of the floor.  Came up with this:

gs-development-071

I’m torn.  This is nice.  Symmetrical.  Functions real well.  But the other one is a maze and I love me some mazes.

We might go back.  Nothing’s keeping me from going back.  I’d just need to think through the puzzles first.

But I did mention impotent rage.  Let’s start heading in that unpleasant direction.

 You might notice that these rooms actually look like rooms.  Unlike the church, which has open areas at the top, everything’s closed off.  Like this:

Now the reason for the open areas before was… hang on, let me quote myself from before:

 The rooms have no doors, nor are they really enclosed like rooms tend to be.  That’s because RPGMaker keeps the Player from walking through walls.  All walls.  No matter what.  So if I have a door in a wall, it’s going to impossible for the Player to walk into the room.  There are workarounds (at least two that I know of), but for this quick project (that’s taking all month) I’m not worried about it.

Well, as I was noodling out the tower’s puzzles, I considered doing something with doors.  The particular doors I liked didn’t match the square shape I was going to have to use.  And one thing lead to another, and I ended up creating tiles.  This tiles match up with the ones the map already has in place (call them Wall Tiles) but are placed game-wise over the actors.  Cut-and-paste job, mostly, but the result… oh, the result!:

gs-development-072

Look at that little blue hat poking up back there!  Like someone’s behind a wall or something.  Heh heh!  This is great!  Why didn’t I do this before!  Lemme work on the church nexT!

Do the exact same steps, and presto changeo, I’m ready to test.

Where I find the colors of the new tile set don’t match the colors of the original Wall Tiles of the Church.  At all.

Clear noticeable difference.

Oh yeah.  That’s why.

No matter what I try, the colors don’t match.

Impotent rage time!  Whoo hoo!  Haven’t felt that since…  Five minutes ago!

I might have anger issues.

Typing this out, I’ve thought of a possible solution to the problem.  I’m going to check it out tomorrow.  After I’ve cooled a little.

What’s Sissy Doing?

Finally, the other day I wrote a dinky little essay over at the sister site on how a Friday the 13th reboot/remake should be handled.  It’s real short, because it’s a very basic idea.

And no, I didn’t simply say “There shouldn’t be one.”

But now I wish I had.

One Reply to “Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXVII): Unnecessary Work Undone and Other Tales That Witness Madness”

Leave a Reply

