Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXVI) – Grand Opening

Twenty six installments in seems like a weird place to put an opening, but that’s how it is.  Today I wrote up (in semi screenplay fashion) the opening scenes of the game.  I’m not putting it in the game quite yet–want to be a little further along before doing that–but the moment came to mind the other day and I wanted to make sure I had it down and ready for when the right time came.

For the record, here is how the scene now goes:gs-development-045

Below, then, is the full deal:


BLACK SCREEN

All the Player sees initially are the following words:

???

This is it! (beat) Time to take my destiny in my own hands!

FADE IN:

EXT. CASTLE GENRIST – DAY

A red-headed young man hurries towards the castle’s main gate. Two guards stand beside the gate; one of which steps to block his way.

CASTLE GUARD

Hey you can’t just…

(shocked realization)

Wait! Are you… the Goblinstomper?

???

You know it!

CASTLE GUARD

Thank heavens! You’re expected in the throne room.

GOBLINSTOMPER

Where else would it be?

FADE OUT

FADE IN:

INT. CASTLE GENRIST THRONE ROOM – DAY

Typical noon day. KING GENRIST sits upon his throne, sleeping. Meanwhile CHANCELLOR SYCHO stands at the top of the stairs, dealing with the day’s business.

The GOBLINSTOMPER strides through the room confident he’s being hired for something earthshaking. The GUARDS pay him no heed, as if nothing interesting is going on.

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

Welcome, welcome, mighty Goblinstomper. Your promptness

does you credit.

GOBLINSTOMPER

Thank you, Kingy!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

(A beat process that)

There seems to be a small, but most understandable,

misunderstanding. I am Chancellor Sycho, ever so

humble servant to our most royal Majesty.

GOBLINSTOMPER

Whatevski! I heard someone’s got the squeeze on you guys

tighter than a boa constrictor coming off a fast! I’m the

man who can get you out!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

Hmm. Tell me, are you…

Here the Player will be able to change the ACTOR’S NAME. From here, though, it is assumed HERO was chosen.

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

…Hero? From the town of Hilrid?

HERO

You know it!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

And you… somehow beat seven Goblin Warriors all on

your lonesome.

HERO

How I became the Goblinstomper! I stomped them good!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

I’m sure. What his Majesty has in mind for you, though,

won’t be so strenuous.

HERO

Lay it on me!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

He needs you to head to Genruitow Tower.

HERO

(exclamation)

Hey, that’s south of my home town!

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

Yes, I know. The King needs you to go there and reclaim

the medallion known as the Mac Griffin. You are to claim

it and return as soon as possible.

HERO

Zoundsabound! I never thought I’d be heading back east

so soon! (beat) Oh well!

Hero turns and starts back the way he came in. Chancellor Sycho stops him midway, puzzled.

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

Don’t you want to know what the Mac 

Griffin is? Why we want it? Aren’t

you even curious about why we want

it?

HERO

(turns towards throne)

Not really! What Kingy wants is what Kingy gets!

Oh, and I’ll take standard Hero rates!  Half the

kingdom, the hand of a Princess, or something like

that!

(turns away)

Keep hope alive until my return!

Hero leaves. The moment he’s gone:

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

What a moron. I’d heard rumors, but I had no idea…

Behind him, King Genrist wakes.

KING GENRIST

Huh, wha–

(beat)

Oh there you are, Sycho. Did I miss anything?

CHANCELLOR SYCHO

Nothing of import, your Majesty.

FADE OUT.

KING GENRIST

Good. I hate missing out.

FADE IN:

EXT. CASTLE GENRIST – DAY

Hero at the front gate again, rather pleased with himself.

HERO

Well. Guess I had better start heading back east.

Control of Hero goes to the Player.


On the one hand I fear it’s too long.  On the other, I think it’s pretty boss.  It does the job of characterizing the speakers and it gives the Player everything needed to advance the game.  I’m not certain where I could prune it even if I wanted to.

Anyways, it’s done, it’s on the Devil Box (and here) and can rested in the old bean for a while as I move on to other matters.

3 Replies to “Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXVI) – Grand Opening”

  1. VERY good. My only (humble) suggestion is to change some of the obvious “humorous” names like “Sycho” to something sinister, but maybe not so “obvious” and “Mr Bookworm”. Of course, “Goblinstomper” is just fine and the “Mac Griffin” is pretty clever…

  2. I just realized Sycho could be short for Psycho just as easily as for what I wanted it to be short for: Sycophant. Which I was unaware I was misspelling until just now (SycHophant was what I thought.) Still, It’s early days and changing the name isn’t out of the question. Maybe Benedict as a replacement. Or Arnold.

    All the nicknames can be dumped at any time, save Goblinstomper, for obvious reasons.

Leave a Reply

