Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXIII): Going to Church

I made mention of this in passing yesterday, but it doesn’t hurt to go over it again (if only for Future Cullen when he randomly surfs his own blog).  During the kerfuffle in the Mysterious Elven Forest of Mystery, the story broke into two strands.  We have a little flow chart made demonstrating this:

goblinstomper-flowchart-000

Holy crap.  I screwed that up.  How the hell did I not notice I screwed that up?  Everything I’ve done has had it that meeting Nilbog puts her in the party.  So the flowchart should be like this:

goblinstomper-flowchart-001

You know what?  It’s Brother Eric’s fault.  If he’d been reading this series, he’d have caught it and I’d have corrected it before now.

CURSE YOU, ERIC!  CURSE YOU!

That nonsense aside, I was tempted to go back to the post the flowchart first appeared in and correct things, except…

Wait a second.  We’ve been in the port section for two weeks?  All our two idiots have to do is get a row-boat?  How in the name of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin does that take two weeks to do?

Jiminy Crickets.  We’re going to blame that on Eric, too.

Anyways, while I don’t mind editing spelling and grammatical errors, and the occasional rewriting to clarify a point (and finish sentence fragments),  I think keeping a record of the gaffes big and small on this somewhat important.  Don’t ask me why.

Thus the little error stays.

Digressions done (ha, like I’ll stop digressing) the point is we have two possible plot lines.  One of them, the “True” one, has our heroes meeting Nilbog and (eventually) traveling with her.  The other one has them meeting and (eventually) traveling with Morty the priest.

I bring this point up because when designing this next part, this becomes a little more important.

Over three hundred words in and I finally got that point made.  Geez I’m bloviating today.

Let’s talk about where our heroes find their row-boat.  In a church, of course:

gs-development-062

I’m not going to stick it in this post (it’s already going to be image heavy as is), but if you recall the previous looks at this town, you’ll not remember this building.  It’s brand new to the map and I kinda like its looks.

Bragging about it isn’t why I want to show you this, though.  Unlike a lot of maps for this part of the game, I don’t have a church map made up.  Thus today is going to be spent making that particular map.

In doing so, I want a basic shape that follow the one that appears above.  It shouldn’t be an exact match, but close enough to pass.

Now, I’m not going to start completely from scratch.  I have a map made for the local inn:

gs-development-063

I figure that’s about the right size for a church.  I want to keep the walls, as it gives a sense of familiarity with the rest of the town.  Everything else must go.  On this I want to move the entrance to the center of the map.

This is the result:gs-development-064

Nice place.  Lots of space.

For this church I need a main place to worship.  I also want two bedrooms, as two people live here.  I also want to change the flooring to give it a more churchy feel.

Thus I drew this:

gs-development-065

That done, it’s time to decorate.  We need an alter, a place for people to sit, as well as furniture for the bedrooms.

With that done, the place looks like this:gs-development-066

All this done, there are a few issues that I noticed.  Maybe you’ve noticed too, maybe these aren’t that big a deal.  However:

  1. The rooms have no doors, nor are they really enclosed like rooms tend to be.  That’s because RPGMaker keeps the Player from walking through walls.  All walls.  No matter what.  So if I have a door in a wall, it’s going to impossible for the Player to walk into the room.  There are workarounds (at least two that I know of), but for this quick project (that’s taking all month) I’m not worried about it.
  2. There aren’t enough seats there for the entire town.  I can add-on the sides or shrink the foyer a tad.  Or I can make the church a wee but larger.  Options a plenty.  I’m not doing any of them (want to move on quick), so this will do for now.
  3. The more I think about it, the more the church is missing something.  Like a kitchen for the resident priest and his assistant.  And toilets.  A simple staircase will fix this, but, again, that’s for another time.

Hopefully writing that down means I’m going to remember it.  At least this post will act as a reminder.

Assuming I ever read it again after hitting “post”.  Ha.  Ha.  Ha.

Next on the schedule is putting in the events.  This I haven’t done yet, but they’ll go something like this:

leaf

For the “False” Path: When our Heroes arrive at the church, they find the place empty, save for the priest’s assistant.  This would be Leaf.

Leaf is a little nervous (as well as a little shy) and doesn’t want to screw up (having had plenty of practice doing the wrong thing before hand).  The church’s row-boat costs money, after all, and she doesn’t want it lost or damage.  So she decides to go with the two to their destination to make sure nothing bad happens.

mortyFor the “True” Path: When our Heroes arrive at the church, they find not only Leaf in attendance, but the town’s priest as well.  This would be our boy Mortimer, or as he’s more commonly called By-The-Book Morty.

Speaking of the book, the book says that church property can’t be just handed out to lay people.  Of course he wants to help the King, it isn’t that.  However the rules are the rules.

Thus someone from the church must go with the row-boat.  He assigns Leaf the task, as he can’t leave the town at that time.

In either case, the heroes get the row-boat and, as an added benefit, a character that can cast Healing magic.

Having multiple paths like this complicates matters.  My intent is when this pops up (and I want it to pop up) I handle it in a way that a.) makes sense and b.) is relatively small and simple to carry out.

With the row-boat, the three Heroes move on to the final stage of their task: the Mac Griffin Ruins.gs-development-checklist-003

Freaking FINALLY!

One Reply to “Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXIII): Going to Church”

Leave a Reply

