Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XXI): Back To Square One

That’s an incredibly ominous title, isn’t it?

Let me explain.  First, take a quick look at the following image, my script work for the villagers.  It’s not important for the post you read the whole thing.  Just get a general idea of what’s there.  Oh, and realize that there’s ten more like it:

gs-development-059

So I’m dutifully entering all of this.  Did a little behind the scenes work for other ideas on how conversation will work, the whole nine yards.

Anyways, I’m on the second villager when suddenly I start wanting to look things up on the Internet.  Things unrelated to the game.

This isn’t a good sign.  I’m beginning to think it means it’s my Muse trying to talk to me.

Because not a couple minutes ago she whispered, “Why are the Villagers saying these things?  Aren’t the characters looking for a way to continue their quest?”

Crap.

Crap, crap, crap.

She’s right.

Either I have a specific set of responses for this, or I need a cut scene having them ask the first Villager they come across.

Both are serviceable (and the latter allows me to keep this work) but the last thing I want to do now is meddle with ANOTHER CUT SCENE.

(In fact, the more I think about it, the more I’m sure it will be another cut scene.)

So in the interest of moving on, I’m not going to put ANY of the couples I worked on.

Instead, I’m doing this:

gs-development-060

Then moving on to the next part.

Probably should have done that in the first place…

Leave a Reply

