Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XVII): Switches

There’s nothing like doing a play test and finding out your clever bit of business screwed up your other clever bit of business.  Such a wonderful, wonderful feeling.

Must be.  How else can you explain why I keep doing it?

Best of all, I go back to the earlier bit of clever and wonder just how the hell I got it working in the first place.

I tell ya, every time I seriously think about getting into coding, this kinda crap pops up…

Anyways.gs-event-editor-002

Yesterday we talked about the Event Editor.  As we did, we brushed on Switches.  To summarize my no doubt woefully oversimplified explanation, a Switch is a basic Yes/No statement.  It can be used to direct traffic, telling the Event whether it’s time to act or not.  They can be checked off in the Condition section of the editor, as I said before:

gs-switch-000

They also work inside the main Contents area:

gs-switch-001

With a flick of a Switch, I can choose whether the game shows a villainess in pursuit of her quarry:

gs-development-054

Or a villainess who doesn’t quite realize she’s been bypassed by the plot:

gs-development-055

I used to prefer the more flexible Variables, but I’ll be darned if Switches haven’t been my go-to guy while programming this game.  The basic simplicity is what I’ve liked.

The above example has a designated Switch for it.  However, to avoid Dread Clutter, I don’t make a Switch for every little thing.

Or rather, I do.  I turn them on for a short while, then turn them off again.

gs-switch-002These are my “Stage Directions”.  I’ve got a set for Variables, too.  I need an Autorun stopped for only a moment and not for good, I use one of these guys.

Just as a quick example, the map where the above Cut Scenes appear on is one where the Player roams through.  To keep the Autorun from starting a scene instantly, I have a condition set for it to wait until the SD:A Switch gets flipped.

Really useful.

And that’s all I’ve got on the subject.  Really sorry I didn’t press on with it yesterday.  Oh well.  I guess they all can’t be winners…

One Reply to “Goblinstomper! Development Diary (XVII): Switches”

Leave a Reply

