Continuing from where we left off yesterday:  Due to the nature of the current subplot (heroes searching forest for stolen wages) I have decided that a map I made for an earlier project simply won’t do.  Thus I’m reworking it.  This won’t be the last time I do this, as we’ll see later.

What I started with is this:

gs-development-027

Nothing wrong with it.  Just doesn’t work for the story.

Thus it must be changed.

Looking at the main world map, we see that I’ve laid out the Mysterious Forest of Elven Mystery like this:

gs-development-034

The boxed areas denote where the North and South Guard Posts are, respectively.

Thus, to my mind, I need a path that’s direct from the North Post to the South.  I also need an area where the Player can explore and fight the occasional monster.  Also, I want to start introducing minor game play elements, paving the way to potentially later puzzles.

After an evening and morning of work what I end up with looks like this:

gs-development-035

You can still see traces of the original map here.  I expanded the box grid a little up and to the sides.  There is now a clear path through the woods and not one that snakes around the place for no clear reason.

There are thirty-nine Events on this map, a number that made me go “YIKES!”  We’re not going to talk about all of them; just the one’s I’m most interest with at this moment.

Before that, let me elaborate  on the drawing extra portions of this map.  Specifically how it was a bit of a pain in the butt.gs-development-036

The bridge on the left is the same one picture on the map.  You might notice a wee problem with it.  Namely it seems superfluous.

This was my fault.  I did a simple cut-and-paste job while expanding the center section of the map, accomplished by hitting the right mouse button over what I wanted copied, then the left mouse button over where I wanted the copy to go.  RPGMaker then copied the exact tile from whatever tile set the original came from.  As the water tiles are (excuse me) fluid, changing based on how I place them on the map and what is near where I place them.  The net result  of this was the above mess up.

What I should have done (and what I did to fix the problem) was something RPGMaker calls a “Shift Click” copy  It’s basically going through the same copying process, but holding Shift down as I do it.  Just as a quick example, I took the very top straight riverbank tile and Shift Clicked all the way down on either side of the bridge.  I did the same with the full water sections, as well as found corners along the river to replicate.

The whole map was filled with Shift Clicks.  Can’t tell you how many I did.  Then whenever I made a change on the map I risked losing whatever Shift Click copy I had near by (as the computer kindly fits things for you, even if you don’t want it done.)

One of the main reasons I did this part in two parts.

 On to the Events.

I think I heard or maybe read that game elements should be added gradually to acclimatize the Player to them.  As I intend to have various puzzles in the ruins ahead, I want to introduce mechanics such as pushing things and throwing switches.  General interacting with the environment kind of stuff.

Thus the boulders:gs-development-037

 The player can push a boulder out of the way.  And only push.  So I’ve taken great care to keep the Player from trapping themselves.

Here.

Puzzles will be another matter…

Up towards the top of the map, by the river, I have a switch that, when pulled, makes a bridge across appear:

gs-development-038

That’s the only switch there and should give the idea that switches should be pulled to advance in some areas.

Finally, we have two Events that are plot related.

hero
wizard

Here’s the set up for our two protagonists.  Hero’s been through this stretch of territory before.  He knows to push the boulders and to flip the switches.  In fact, he’s rather surprised that they’re all taken care of now.  This decided, I’ll probably have the guard who gives this quest recognize the Goblinstomper.  Sort of, hey will you help me out again sort of thing.  (I used the name Lefty as an example back then; might keep it now.)

Through this he leads the reluctant Wizard, who really thinks all they needed to do was talk to the guard who lost his wages.  He’ll make a few comments on the proceedings, that sort of thing.  Hopefully an endearing snark rather than irritating.

At last they reach the end of the woods, where they find the

There they find two figures waiting there:gs-development-039

As you can see, the handsome fellow talking to Hero there is a Goblin.  In fact, not only is he the Big Bad of the Map, he’s also the Goblin that got stomped by the Goblinstomper.  Needless to say, he wants pay back.

Hero recognizes the Goblin, but for some reason the Goblin doesn’t recognize Hero.

We’ll come back to that.

nilbogTogether Hero and Wizard give the Goblin a second stomping.  That done, they meet the second figure.  Whom, as might be plain, is another one of our characters, Nilbog.

In a quick bit of dialogue it becomes clear that she’s the true Boss of the robbers and not the fallen Goblin.  At least, she is right until she gets a good look at Hero and Wizard.  Then suddenly (and as if they were too dim to notice) she was a helpless kidnap victim.  She hands the two the lost wages back, thanks them for saving her, then runs off, clearly flustered.

Hero has it all figured out: she’s in love with him.  Bad girls always fall in love with the Hero, and who else there is a Hero?

Wizard doesn’t know anything about that.  All he knows is that for some reason the moment Nilbog saw him she couldn’t keep her eyes off him..

In any case, the money goes to who it belongs to, and the two continue on their way to the port.  In fact, here’s another thought.  When winning combats with enemies, Players are rewarded in two fashions: Experience and Money.  Should they acquire enough money they should be able to pass through the forest without ever seeing Nilbog at all.  Such a sum shouldn’t be that high.

We’ll discuss this more tomorrow, I think.

But, we have another milestone to note:gs-development-checklist-002

Seven days in and halfway done.  Not bad, considering how long I meddled with the last one.

Then again, it is because of the last one that I’ve gotten this far…

3 thoughts on “Goblinstomper! Developer Diary (VII): Mysterious Elven Forest of Mystery Part Two

Leave a Reply

