Goblinstomper! Developer Diary (I): The Quest Begins

Do you like starting projects and never finishing them?  Sure, we all do!  Hell’s teeth, that’s almost been the motto of this blog for coming close to twelve years: “Start, but never f

This year, though, I’d like to do something different.  2017 is going to be the year of finishing things.  Novels.  Stories.  Blog series.  The works.

Also, I intend to post more on this blog.  And on the sister site, too, but that’s a problem for another day.

One of the things I want to do is complete a game using RPGMaker MV.  I’ve bought the engine (technically twice) and have had nothing to show for the money spent.  Thus I’m doing this series of blog posts in the hopes of killing a few birds with one stone.

To complete this task, I’m using the RPGMaker website’s own tutorial as sort of training wheels to get my butt in gear.  The closest I’ve come to finishing has been using said tutorial and I’m hoping another run through might actually seal the deal.

Should you click on that link, you’ll see that the tutorial is actually for RPGMaker VX and not MV.  This is not a problem, as VX and MV are quite similar, up to the point where they’re not similar at all.

I realize that the previous sentence was spectacularly unhelpful.  Another feature of this blog!  Also, the differences won’t come into play until we hit certain play mechanics.  Which I won’t deal with in this post.

So without further ado, let’s look at what’s on our plate this time.

The Level One potion of the tutorial is real basic.  I’m suppose to come up with a basic plot outline for the game ahead.  Here’s the example given:

gs-development-000
From https://www.rpgmakerweb.com/support/products/tutorials

Basically that’s every old school Japanese RPG (JRPG) out there.  All that’s missing is the kidnapped princess.

Anyways, I make my own plot, moving it from the sample given like so:

gs-development-001

We’ve moved it from the standard quest format not because it’s the standard quest format but because it’s a wee bit open-ended.  I can expand the game later if things seem to be going good.  Which is one of my hopes.

Level one complete!  On to the next stage.

Level Two has us make a new project.  Give it a name, open up a file, that sort of thing.  Like so:

gs-development-002

I chose Goblinstomper! as an homage to the game that got me into this nonsense, Dragonstomper!  That my own little outline encompasses that game’s basic plot is no coincidence.

And yes, that’s all the story Dragonstomper basically has.  It makes Dragon Quest look like the Lord of the Rings.  It was all we had at the time, shut up, leave me alone.

The next steps in this Level include the drawing and testing out of maps.  Here I’m gonna cheat.  A lot.

As I already have maps drawn for other games, I’m just going to port said maps over to this game.  Like so:

gs-development-003

I also have maps drawn for all the towns pictured but one. the castle, the forest, and the ruins.  I also have an extra map done for landing the rowboat later in the game as well as a larger world map.

All of this comes from the last time I tried doing this with the RPG Maker tutorial.  Not the most successful version, mind–that was on VX and was lost a computer or two ago.

Level Two complete!  Also, Level Three complete, as the next step has us create the “Good” King’s Castle:

gs-development-004

 Technically it’s just the throne room, but there you go.

The rest of Level Three deals with the basics of Events, the magical mystical things that make the RPGMaker game happen.  As I’m fairly familiar with the process (to tutorial covers entering and leaving maps) I’m not going to dwell on it here.  The next Level awaits.

Which is where we begin tomorrow.  All sorts of goodness with the Event editor and all the fun that provides.

My intent with this series is to at least cover the making of the game up to where the tutorial ends.  I’ll continue  the series if I continue working on the game.  Fingers crossed in these’s hopes, as, again, my projects aren’t always fin

3 Replies to “Goblinstomper! Developer Diary (I): The Quest Begins”

Leave a Reply

