I Am, It Must Be Said, a MUCH Better Fan of Godzilla Than Power Girl

So over the past few months or so we’ve had news dribble out about the new Godzilla.  Not, it must be said, the sequel to the awesome 2014 version (which frankly is one of the best Godzilla since the Sixties) but for the new Toho version coming out next year.

Recently an article has come out giving a few more details.  Most of this deals with cast, something I can’t talk about as I’ve seen none of the actors in action.  However, it does give me an excuse to talk about what I have heard, which follows in bullet point fashion:

  • The two directors for the new Godzilla are Shinji Higuchi and Hideaki Anno.  The limit I know about Higuchi is that he’s directing the Attack on Titan movies, which, I’m sorry, can’t possible approach the series they’re based on.  Anno, however, was the guiding force behind Neon Genesis Evangelion, an anime series I have a degree of respect for.  Worse comes to worse, this will be a very interesting movie.
  • The new Godzilla is being billed as being bigger than the Hollywood one.  Look guys, this one-ups manship has to stop.  If it keeps up, the King’s going to have his head in the stratosphere.
  • It’s also going to be called the scariest Godzilla yet.  Which is great, because I always watched Godzilla films for the unbridled terror and not monsters fighting monsters.  It also suggests that the King is going to be the villain.  Not unexpected, all things considered, but a wee bit disappointing for me
  • Some commentators on the new flick (sorry, no links handy) have suggested the Toho Godzilla might have derisive jokes about the 2014 version.  Now the vibe I’ve always gotten was that the 2014 movie was fairly well received.  For instance, the Hollywood Godzilla was offered as a perk for preordering the new Godzilla game.  There were comments about the King being fat, but beyond that, maybe, I just don’t see it happening.
  • Finally, the Toho Godzilla will be called Shin Gojira.  Shin has many different possible meanings, such as “New” and “True,” which admittedly points towards derisive.  This article, however, also points out it also means “God”.  Now doesn’t that suggest possibilities.

As with the next American Godzilla, I’m dying to see this film.  Of my childhood heroes, Godzilla has been doing the best lately as far as I’m concerned, and I hope that continues.

Leave a Reply

