The Old Man (Briefly) Rants About Comics

I might have mentioned my affection for the Kindle.  Access to stuff I had a hard time finding in bookstores, carrying a library of hundreds of books in my hands, another electronic gizmo to lose, blah, blah, blah.  Let’s consider it said and move on.

Seriously.  Who WOULDN'T want DEVIL DINOSAUR?  He's a Dinosaur.  That's red.
Seriously. Who WOULDN’T want DEVIL DINOSAUR? He’s a Dinosaur. That’s red.

Recently (in the past year or so) I learned you can get comics on the thing.  I’m not talking collections–that I knew about–I’m talking individual issues.  Like a complete run of Devil Dinosaur.  More Howard the Duck than anyone can ever want.  That sort of thing.

It’s getting to the point that even if I win the lottery, I’ll still be poor.  Between the novel series I always wanted to read to the games they keep bring over (Fighting Fantasy is now on Kindle with other games promised soon; are they trying to kill me?) to the movies I can download and now the comics…  Where will I get the funds for it all?  Never mind the time?

The frustrating part (ha ha, one of the frustrating parts), though, is when you get to the actual names.  Such as Peter Parker, the Spectacular Spider-man, say, or Doctor Strange.  There they only have up choice issues.  And not even complete story lines; just a couple here or there, without any clear logic or reason behind it.

Take, for instance, this issue:

But at least his ability to spout exposition is completely unaffected.
But at least his ability to spout exposition is completely unaffected.

This is a part of what I believe is a three part series.  Specifically the middle part.  I had this issue as a kid and as an adult would have loved to see how the whole thing started.  No joy there.

But it gets better.  Because the next issue is available.  It’s this one:

Peter Perker Spectacular Spider-man 028 000
Boy does that character carrion and on. Get it? Get it? It’s funny. Cause it’s a pun.

This is the first part of a three part story line.  Involving Carrion.  One of my favorite Spider-villains.

Gah.

Frustrating in the extremes.  Especially when you consider how many Howard the Ducks kindle has.  I mean, I know it’s a cult classic, but come on!  Some characters are more important.

But that’s not what I’m here to rant about.

Surprisingly.

One of the sites I frequent was listing The Greatest Joker Stories of All Time (my title, not theirs) and one caught my fancy.  I went over to look it up, saw it was on Kindle, checked out the price, and almost shouted, “$3.99?  For a comic book?

Instantly I was an old man.

The kind that yells at the neighbor kids to get off his lawn while shaking his cane in futile rage.

I don’t know how much comics cost these days.  I know it you can’t get one for three quarters any more, mainly because that price was long gone by the time I stopped collecting comics.  For all I know, $3.99 is a bargain.

Which leads to another whinge about funds.

The modern age.  So many things to buy, so little money to by them with.

 

Leave a Reply

