Only four misfits stand against a newly awakened dragon.

I like Terry Pratchett’s stuff.  Maybe not everything is a hit with me, but for the most part I find walking away from a book I don’t regret reading it.

This particular one, an early novel, had the deck slightly stacked against it.  I’m more of a Rincewind/Granny Weatherwax sort of Discworld fan, and neither character is in evidence here.  However I laughed where I was supposed to and had it been my first exposure to the series I would have come back for more.

I know.  This is a lousy review.  Comedy books like this, though, are hard to describe without risking some of its charms.  If you like, say, Douglas Adams, or the other Discworld books, this will be a fun read.

Leave a Reply

