I’d heard of “symmetrical docking” before.  Even seen an example of it.  Such as this, below:

Symmetrical Docking 000

I thought I’d post this image a second time, but after drawing arrows to fully describe the “symmetrical docking”.  So everyone could see and understand just where I was coming from.  Maybe even blow up the proper section of the image.  Deleting everything else.  Save the “symmetrical docking”.  And the arrows.

Then I remembered I wasn’t thirteen.

Really.  This has been a problem of late.

In essence, symmetrical docking describes two anime females (or just plain ole females) standing so close that their boobs are smooshed together.  As above.

Aren’t you glad you now know this?  Isn’t your life more fulfilled?

Maybe if you’re thirteen…

Knowing the term, I began wondering just where it came from.

Because I’m that way.

The quickest to do this, I felt, was heading over to TV Trope.  What with it being a veritable fount of useless knowledge, I figured I’d find it’s page in no time.

Actually it took a little more than that, but this silly little essay is already almost 200 words long, and that’s about 200x longer than it should be.  To summarize, here’s what I learned, via this quote:

A phrase commonly used to describe a picture of two girls standing so close together their breasts are squished against each other. Originated from a Super Robot Wars Alpha 2 Yonkoma [4 panel comic] where, instead of showing Cho Ryu Jin’s [a giant robot’s] Symmetrical Docking Transformation Sequence, a picture of original characters (with huge breasts) Kushua Mizuha and Seolla Schweitzer are shown in [said] position.

Which looks like this:

Symmetrical Docking 001

It’s the “squish” onomatopoeia in the second panel that really sells this strip.

Anyways, that’s what I learned today.  And now you know.  And knowing is half the battle.  Or a few cells of memory in your head that you’ll never use for important facts.

Honestly, I don’t see why I should be the only one to suffer.

 

One thought on “Learning Something New (If Not Really That Useful)

  1. Wouldn’t it be funny if this was the last blog post I ever did? Not that I’m really thinking about it. But come on. Nearly ten years of blogging, some of it quite good, and I go out with symmetrical docking.

    God, I’ve got to post something before that starts to sound like a good idea…

Leave a Reply

