After Eight Years of This, You’d Think I’d Have Found a Better Use For My Time

There is absolutely no reason for this Power Girl Cover.  She isn't even mentioned in the post.  I just wanted to have her here.  Staring in fury at me.  Because I missed her.  And there's something wrong with me.  Long caption, ain't it?
There is absolutely no reason for this Power Girl Cover. She isn’t even mentioned in the post. I just wanted to have her here. Staring in fury at me. Because I missed her. And there’s something wrong with me. Long caption, ain’t it?

Last September, after several years worth of wussy bouts of chest pains, my Dad decided to go whole hog and have an actual, honest to God heart attack.  He liked it so much that a few days after that he had another one.  The whole story is full of joyous laugher as only a near death experience can bring, but the net result was that they put a defibrillator/pace maker into his chest.  Thus if I refer to him as Mecha Dad, you’ll know where I’m come from.

Around that same time Brother Todd found out he had a blockage in his urethra.  He had to endure an operation that cut a hole about midway between butt hole and manhood so that the doctors could snake in, snip out the offending portion of tubing and reconnecting the still clear ends.  Following this procedure he had to use a catheter for about a month for obvious reasons.

And if you think I’m being too free with this information, allow me to point out that Todd was telling random people he encountered during his day about his procedure weeks in advance.  I’m not joking.  He did this.  There even might be pictures of its aftermath up on Facebook.  I’m too afraid to check out to be sure.

With all this fun and games came NaNoWriMo, an on-line contest that I usually one, but for some bizarre reason I couldn’t focus on to finish.  In fact, there was very little focus and a whole lot of angst about my life and the wasting of same.

This blog got mentally named checked during this period.  A lot.

Because, let’s face it, it is a big waste of time.  NO ONE READS IT EXCEPT FOR ME!  NO ONE LIKES IT EXCEPT FOR ME!  WHY THE HELL AM I STILL DOING THIS AFTER EIGHT YEARS?

Short answer?  It’s been a constant.  It’s been the one project that I’ve never abandoned.  That I always go back to and work on.

I came close to ending it.  I came closer to ending this particular blog.  Yet here it is.

I can’t decide if I’m being stubborn or just plain lazy.

The current plan is from here out, business as usual.  Tomorrow (or there about) I hope to have a post up about the current Corpse Party game.  From here out, there should be at least one post a week on, say, Thursday.  I might post more, I’ll probably post less, but the idea is that I have at least one post up of fair to decent quality.

Meanwhile, over at the sister site, Welltun Cares Review (which despite being almost four years old has had no anniversary posts or whiny angst posts) will continue to update every Friday when I have a review finished.  Which, by sad coincidence, isn’t going to be tomorrow.  Try again next week.

2 Replies to “After Eight Years of This, You’d Think I’d Have Found a Better Use For My Time”

Leave a Reply

