This is going to take a little explaining for those who come in late.  Please bear with me.

The stated purpose of the The Hell…?! series of articles on this site is to list things I found on the web that made me stop and say “The Hell…?!”  Of course, had this been a serious the Roman Numerals at the top would be well into the M’s, but leave us not contemplate this.

Every now and then, though, I come across something in my day-to-day life that… well… needs commenting on.  This is one of those times.

That’s plenty of exposition right there.  But wait! There’s more!

I have been teasing my Cousin Emily for pretty much as long as I can remember.  Not since her birth, that would be silly, but roughly half her life has been spent dealing with my snide commentary.  She really is a saint for putting up with it for as long as she has.  It’s too bad all of her other more odious habits will keep her from canonization, but really, what can you do?  I have a hard enough time keeping myself from excommunication.

Most of my family has taken this as a little quirk of mine (or agree with me in it being justified; I’ve never bothered asking).  However, Brother Eric has taken me to task for it.  “She’s a nice girl,” says he.  “You pick on her too much.  Leave her be.”

To which I’ve responded, “That’s easy for you to say.  You’re not even in the same state as her.”

Which is true.

But today, and here we get to the point of this essay, today I encountered something that gave me pause.  I was typing in a title for a link at the sister site when the blog cheerfully popped up a suggestion for how to finish said title.  Below is said suggestion:

 I’ve been writing this blog for over seven years.  I’ve been working on the Sister site for a slightly less number of years.  In that time I’ve written a hell of a lot of words.

I’ve no idea where that’s from.

I’ve no idea what that’s referring too.

But the first thought that popped into my head was “The Hell,” followed by “is wrong with me?”

This is not a new thought for me.  But it did spring another.  Perhaps I am too harsh on poor little cousin Emily.  Perhaps I should cut back on the admittedly very funny witticisms I send her way.

Then I think, but that would mean… that would mean Eric was right.  And, by correlation, I was wrong.

Oh no.

No no no.

Anything but that.

Brr.

One thought on “The Hell…?! (XXVII) – Maybe Brother Eric is Right…

Leave a Reply

