I’m making my way through the series Mobile Suit Gundam.  It’s one of the Big Names in anime and, as I had access to it through Crunchyroll, I felt it past time to educate myself on the matter.

I’m not going to rattle on about it too much at this time beyond the following two observations.

One:  I think that had I caught this as a kid, I would have loved it to death.  Right now I’m grooving fairly well, liking all the characters save one, which we’ll be talking about shortly.

Watching this, I get a distinct Robotech/Macross vibe.  Which is if anything the reverse of the way it should be put, given Gundam came first, but that’s beside the point.  What I mean is that in many ways it feels like I’m watching a show I loved in childhood, which is an interesting feeling considering I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen it before.

All of this is a wordy way of saying that I like the show.

However it’s not all skittles and beer, which brings us to Two.  Among the characters is one Kai Shiden.  Kai, not to put too fine a point on it, is obnoxious.  Every word out of his mouth is something snide, selfish and/or cowardly.  Almost from his first appearance I’ve been actively rooting for something untoward to happen to him.  Like him being covered in fire ants, or maybe him being forced to watch Manos the Hand of Fate on loop for hours.

It came to a sort of head in Episode Seven, it happened.  Kai was sitting there in his chair, being his snide self.  I watching, frowning, wishing bad things upon the man.

Then IT happened.  Out of the blue:

Immediate, immense satisfaction.  Tears came to my eyes.  This can’t happen enough, frankly.  If I have any complaints about this show, it’s that this doesn’t happen once an episode.

Leave a Reply

