Selene (Underworld)
A movie poster might be more appropriate, but I just like this picture better. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So I’m just sitting around my house, minding my business, not thinking much of anything (y’know, like every other day of my life) when this commercial for the latest Underworld movie comes on.  I’ve seen the first movie, didn’t care for it one way or the other, and thus really have no dog in the series.  So to speak.

In any case, one of the characters mentions one of the central conflicts in the series, a war between the Vampires and the Lycan, and a little gear in my head just pops of place.  Why the hell was there a need to give werewolves a new name?

Oh, I know what Lycan’s short for.  That’s not the point.  Why not just say Vampires vs. Werewolves?  Clear, to the point, and most everyone knows which monster does what.

Or, if you must, give Vampires a “special” name.  Call them, I don’t know, Nosfer.  Or Verdil, if you want to really confuse people.

Part of my problem is that Lycan is fundamentally a Smeerp.  Unless there’s a difference between a Lycan and a Werewolf, there is no earthly reason not to call the latter the former.

As I said in the title, it’s a stupid thing to have bother me.  But it does.

Leave a Reply

