It Says a Lot About My Viewing Habits…

Battlefield Earth (film)
AH! THE GIANT GHOSTLY HEAD OF JOHN TRAVOLTA IS COMING TO GET ME!

…when, on seeing Battlefield Earth winning a “Worst Science Fiction Movie ever made” vote, my first thought is that the voters lead oh so sheltered lives.  Followed by a distinct rush of envy for said voters.

I mean, come on.  Battlefield Earth is unquestionably a terrible film, but the worst?  Worse than The Crater Lake Monster?  R.O.T.O.RReptilicusMAC and Me?

Seriously?  Worse than MAC and Me?

You ever notice with these Worst of/Best of lists that the movies there-in tend to skewer recent?  Suggesting that maybe the voters have no freakin’ idea what their talking about?

This is why I don’t pay too much attention to this sort of thing.  Beyond the general hope of being exposed to a new film.

Which, considering we’re talking about terrible movies, also says a lot about my viewing habits.

“Come on, Cull,” the little voice in my brain sez.  “Two Headed Shark Attack looks interesting!”  Which invokes the all too predictable reaction to the idea.  “No.  No!  NO!  NOOOOOOOOOOkay let’s put it on.”

Because lord only knows I don’t need as many neurons as I’ve got in my head.  Getting kinda crowded in there, what with the ten or twelve rattling in there now…

Leave a Reply

