The Best Way To Make Me Do Something is For Me To Say I Won’t Do It; or, Oh God He’s Talking About RPG Maker Again, Isn’t He?

I haven’t worked on my game for two days because I’ve been too busy working on my game.

I know I said I wouldn’t talk about the game again, but technically I’m only grazing the issue.  What I want to talk about is perfectionism in a man who is known for half-assed-good-enough work if he’s known for anything at all.

Here’s the RPG Maker part of things:  I wanted to add my art to the game.  I’m not satisfied with some of the character art and wanted to add my own.  I didn’t want to go completely nutso and do art for the thing, mainly because I don’t think my arts that good.  But I thought I was good enough to fake it.  Good enough to imitate the original artist’s style so I could mix my original stuff in.

So I draw this picture and, to quote my Twitter:


Sometimes I think I can’t draw worth a damn. Then others, like today, where I say HOT DAMN!


I draw it, I color it, I shade it as best I can, and it’s good.  It’s damn good.  It’s over to the right so you can see for your self.  It works.

Except it isn’t at all like any of the art in the game.  It sticks out like a sore digit that puts us over cows and snakes.

So last night I drew a second picture.  Today I worked to ink it via Manga Studio.  I get six versions of it finished (so the character can express herself better in the dialogue boxes).  I start coloring…

And the ink lines are too thick.  It doesn’t look like the art in the game.

Do you know how frustrating it is, batting a thousand and have none of it matter?

You’d think I’d be used to it with this blog (badum CHING!)

I’m starting my third try now.  I’m certain that this time I’ll nail it, but frankly that’s my weekend in a bow for you right there.

Now that I’ve vented, I hopefully can talk about something else.  Failing anything else, I give you my solemn guarantee that March 21 will have at least some RPG Maker free content.  Though probably not GOOD content, judging past March 21 posts…

Leave a Reply

