I Didn’t Spontaneously Combust Yesterday.

I didn’t spontaneously combust yesterday, any more than I did the day before that or the week before that or even the month before that.  Can’t say I’m that surprised.  Disappointed, yes, what with so many people my age doing it to great effect, but not surprise.

I did feel a little warm around noonish.  I was writing my story, minding my business, and there it was.  Thought there was a little smoke, too, but it was just my imagination.  Eventually it went away like it had never been.

Frustrating.

I know that some people think spontaneous combustion is old hat, that it should fall away into the dustbin of history.  Me, I don’t see it that way.  It looks very  fulfilling.  It can really light up your life, you know?

But am I really ready for spontaneous combustion?  Or do I just think I am?  Because, frankly, it’s very time-consuming once it starts.  It burns up so much of your life.

I dunno.

All I know is that I didn’t do it yesterday.  And in all likelihood I won’t today.

One Reply to “I Didn’t Spontaneously Combust Yesterday.”

Leave a Reply

