VRP Madness (I): Setting the Stage

Here at Welltun Cares Presents we do things in a truly well-ordered method: Everything that’s posted is posted according to my whim.  Sometimes this means we talk about fun stuff like the world around us.  Other times it’s just me rambling on and on and o… you get the idea.

I bring this up because for some reason my thoughts this week focus on Computer Role Playing Games (PCRPG) and Console Role Playing Games (CRPG).  I’m thinking it might take me through this week.  But no guarantees.  Tomorrow we might be back to me gushing about how wonderful Power Girl is.  Or another series of bashes against (ugh) Green Arrow.

I figured if I’m dipping my foot into doing a series, I need some sort of introduction to the matter, one I can point back to so I’m not repeating myself consciously throughout the week.  I’ll no doubt be doing enough that unconsciously.  Ho ho hee.

Role Playing | Technology
We had all the main rule books for basic Dungeons & Dragons at one point. Never used them. Just had them. (Image by Daniele Muscetta via Flickr)

Anyways, here’s the gist.  As kids, Brother Eric and I were Role Playing Game (RPG) nuts.  While we were mainly Dungeons & Dragons kids, if you name the game company odds were good we either owned a system from it or knew about it.  More, we played solo game books such as Fighting Fantasy and Lone WolfWe played them a lot.  More, I would say, than we played video games.

We knew that there were RPGs on the computer, but we never owned a computer in our childhood (ignoring the Texas Instruments thing we had briefly; it was more console than anything else).  What we played looked interesting, but we never tooled with it enough to find out that much about them.

Then the RPGs started trickling into an arena we had access to: video game consoles.

Battling a Slime in Dragon Warrior for the NES
YOU'RE NOT GOING TO GET ME THIS TIME YOU DAMN DIRTY SLIME!

It started with Dragonstomper (a very brief, very crude quest game), moved into Dragon Warrior Quest (a longer better, but still crude game) then fully hooked on the things with Final Fantasy (don’t get me started.)  I think I’ve played at least one game in all the major CRPG series.  After reading and writing CRPGs tend to be where I derive my most pleasure with.  Which might be very sad; I can’t tell anymore.

These days, though, I have a computer.  No really, I have one.  No lie.  And I use it for writing and art, mostly.  But I also play PCRPGs.  While the list isn’t as lengthy as with CRPGS, I feel comfortable enough to yack about it.

That out-of-the-way, what does this series entail?  Well, for starters, we’ll be talking about the various games out there, debating the merits (or lack there of) of PCRPGs and CRPGs (with a brief look at Japanese CRPGs v. American).  I’m also going to talk about individual games, game theory, and a whole bunch of nonsense.

This might not seem interesting to the casual reader, but I hope that through proper usage of what I laughingly call my wit it should be of some entertainment to those who don’t care a whit about the subject.

I’m shooting for seven days, but please bear in mind, I don’t always finish series here at Welltun Cares Presents.   Sooner or later I’m.. always…  distracted by… some…

Oh Power Girl.

Sigh.

See you tomorrow, I hope.

5 Replies to “VRP Madness (I): Setting the Stage”

  1. I look forward to it. Not only will I comment on every post, I will link them to my blog and expound on what you said.

    I was having trouble coming up with topics that weren’t directly related to what I’m working on (a commandment from She Who Knows Better Than I). This is… well, kinda not directly related, since it’s more about PCRPGs than the tabletop variety.

    I look forward to it, oh brother of mine. Lead the way.

Leave a Reply

