Lost in Translation

Periodically I consider putting Welltun Cares Presents out of its misery.  Nobody reads it, nobody thinks about it, I have novels to write and Old Age isn’t so much knocking at my front door as actually in my house, rummaging through my refrigerator.  If it’s purpose was to improve my writing then consider that purpose done.  Time to move on.  Let the blog die.

As a rule, something hits me, I need to write it down, and wouldn’t you know I have an outlet with WCP.  Imagine that.  I swear there are times that doing this keeps me sane.   Or what passes as sane for me.  You know how it is.

Every so often, though, I will get a comment or link that will do the same job.  One of them was the response to my Remember Your Croce piece.  Another was my very first death threat, if you can believe it.  Wondering just what will happen next with this site is exciting.  It’s funny.  It’s rewarding.

 Which leads us to Commenter roberto nunes.

A crappy image of Jeanne putting the hurt on her rival

On June 11, 2011, I noticed a reply to one of my Magical Girlfriend series of essays.  Specifically the one talking about the cartoon show Jeannie.  You don’t need to click on the link to follow along; the gist of it is that I found the show entertaining despite being flawed.

In any case, I was curious to see what was roberto nunes said, so I clicked over.  Only to find a slight problem in my plan:


Eu gosto dessa serie..para min é a melhor…pena que nunca lançaram em dvd..e a finalidade dos cartoons é divertir e não escrever uma tese!!


Namely that I had no idea what language that was in.

None.

My first thought was that it was spam.  You’d be surprised by the amount of Russian spam this site gets.  Maybe it was spam from… wherever that came from.

All I had to go on was the name roberto.  That’s a Spanish name.  Except I took Spanish for five years, and while I can’t speak the language worth a damn I know it when I see it.  That wasn’t it.

Which to my mind left Portuguese.  So I copied the comment and went to that site of sites Babel Fish for a translation.  Specifically Yahoo Babel Fish.  This is what I got back:


I taste of this series. .para min am best… the penalty that had never launched in dvd. .e the purpose of cartoons is to amuse and not to write a thesis!


Well.  Not spam.  Not quite sure what any of that meant though.

I did have another option: Ackuna Translator.  Which gave me this:


I like this series .. for min … is the best penalty ever released on DVD .. and the purpose of amusement and in cartoons is to write a thesis!


 Which, really, isn’t much better.

However between the two I had the gist of the matter.  So I wrote a reply, basically explaining the above process and summing up what I thought roberto said, with the following at the end:


As you can see, there’s something lost in translation.

Equally lost, apparently, is the fact I like this cartoon too.

And a part of the reason for writing the “thesis” was to share its existence with others. As well as share the fun I have had. Surely that’s not a bad thing.


Maybe that was a little too strong.  It doesn’t give the sheer amusement the situation gave me.  Had I given things a bit more thought, I might have done better.

Then again, I ever gave anything more thought, this blog would be half its size, now wouldn’t it?

In any case, I thought the matter over and done with.  A pleasant little diversion from the basic routine of blogging life.

Only yesterday I noticed that roberto had replied:


DESCULPE !!!REALMENTE HAVIA ERRO NA TRADUÇÃO!!!!ENTENDI MAL SEU COMENTÁRIO…NA MINHA PRIMEIRA LEITURA ,PENSEI QUE VOCÊ ESTAVA MALHANDO O DESENHO!!DESCULPAS SINCERAS!!!


Which, according to Ackuna, translate to either:


SORRY! REALLY WAS IN TRANSLATION ERROR!! MISUNDERSTOOD YOUR COMMENT … IN MY FIRST READING, THOUGHT YOU WERE KNITWEAR DESIGN! SINCERE APOLOGIES!


or, according to Yahoo:


IT FORGIVES! IT REALLY HAD ERROR IN THE TRANSLATION! I UNDERSTOOD ITS COMMENTARY BADLY… ABOUT MY FIRST READING, I THOUGHT THAT YOU WERE THRESHING THE DRAWING! SINCERE EXCUSES!


I’m not entirely sure which translation I like better.  Is being called “knitwear designs” really any worse than being referred to as an it?

Let’s split difference and say the following is an correct translation:


SORRY!  THERE WAS AN ERROR IN TRANSLATION! I MISUNDERSTOOD THE ESSAY!  IN MY FIRST READING I THOUGHT YOU WERE TRASHING THE CARTOON! SINCERE APOLOGIES!


To which I responded with a “Not a problem” and a smiley face :-). I suppose I could have tried using the translators to express things better, but then again who knows what I’d really be saying.

What matters is that I cleared up a misunderstanding.  Maybe

What matters is that once again, I’m reminded that I don’t care what anyone else thinks.  Welltun Cares Presents is the best God damn blog on the net.

That no one reads.

4 Replies to “Lost in Translation”

    1. I thank you kindly for the offer, sir. 🙂 I tended towards hyperbole with this essay; technically I do have readers. At least three. It’s just that they don’t stop by as often as they once did.

      Such is life.

  1. Yes, the current state of blogging is something I think about quite a bit; and the decline in the rich “interactive” blogging I recall from my “middle” years (circa 2006 – 2008) is something I joke about quite a bit. So few are they who see blogging as a creative outlet, rather than as a mere extension of the whole “social networking” thing! It’s truly lamentable.

    I found your blog, interestingly enough, by doing an image search for 5 Million Years to Earth, a shlocky old film I remember enjoying when I was a kid. Upon giving your blog a bit more of a look, I was delighted to find a blogger who seems generally to defy the aforementioned lamentable trend. Creativity and wit are at a premium in a blogosphere that is choking to death with the mundane narcissism of the dreaded online diary.

    While I suspect you were not seriously considering tagging-and-bagging your blog just yet, I want to say that I hope you don’t. I’d hate to think I’ve found you on the eve of your retirement!

    😀

  2. No worries on retirement. I expected this thing to die out within a few weeks, a month tops. After six years I’m fairly sure stopping might prove impossible.

    No doubt because I’m addicted to the sound of my own voice.

    There might be gaps in updates, due to “blogger’s block” or other writing, and there might be times when all I post is an image or a picture. But quitting isn’t in the cards just yet. And I’m thankful for it. This blog’s been good to me. I’d like to think I’d continue to be good to it.

    Which might be a weird sentiment, but that’s okay. I’m a weird man.

Leave a Reply

