I! AM! FREE!

I knew I was in trouble when, almost half of the way through the NaNoWriMo contest, I write the perfect opening sentence.  I mean, it’s perfect.  wonderful.

And completely didn’t match my opening chapter.  At all.

The rest of the contest was recovering from that.  Almost literally, I spent the month rewriting the opening.  And rewriting the opening.  And rewriting the opening.  As each time the opening was different, I just added it to the end and tried to push forward with the novel.  Only to go back and rewrite the opening.

Again.

Finally, I’m almost hating the contest.  Technically I’ve lost – I’m not going to finish a novel by the end – but technically it’s not about the novel, it’s about the count.  And I!  HATE!  QUITTING!

Today, when it was time to put up the count, I was actively hating NaNoWriMo because it was keeping me from working full-time on the novel.  Think about that for a second.  This novel might not have existed at all had it not been for the contest, and here I am hating the source.  It was to laugh.

Oh well.  It’s over now.  Time to look towards next year’s NaNo.

But first, I’m finishing the damn novel this year’s NaNo started.  Damn it.  I’m tired of not having a fricking novel under the belt…

One Reply to “I! AM! FREE!

Leave a Reply

