Desert Punk (Series) – A Review

Is one episode enough to judge an entire series by?

A little bit no, a little bit yes.

Here’s Desert Punk in a nut shell, at least based on the first episode: it’s the story of a post-apocalyptic “handyman” who does his best to finish ever job he starts.  He’s a lecherous ass, but über competent.  The stories are in a humorous vein and there’s a lot of leering at well endowed girls.  It’s made by a company called Gonzo (and I doubt it refers to that Gonzo).

I can’t say that I didn’t enjoy parts of the episode.  My humor can be juvenile and Desert Punk does cater that way.  The action was, well, action.  While I knew how the episode would turn out before Our “Hero” had a clue, I did watch on to the end.

But after that, I had and have no thought about continuing on.  There’s not enough there to interest me.

And it might pick up and be good.  Or at least as good as the material will let it.

Don’t care.

Not interested.

You can’t engage me with one episode, I’m not finishing the series.

Gun Sword did it, though barely.

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya did it, and it’s first episode made no damn sense. (Well it did… but… well… you’d have to see it.)

Look, I’m not opposed to lecherous main characters, or sex, or anything like this.  There has to be a spark, a frission, and it simply does not exist between me and this show.

It happens.

Leave a Reply

