The Last CulNoWriMo Post, or Positive Thinking, or How I Gave Up Writing a Reply to Another Post and Instead Created a New Post As a Reply Instead

Oh dear sweet Jesus do I need to drop this CulNoWriMo thing already. I just realized it could just as easily stand for Cullen’s Not Writing Month as Cullen’s Novel Writing Month.  And now that I’ve thought of that I can’t unthink it!

Anyways.  To answer Henry’s question about where the story is going plotwise:

It’s going nowhere.  Fast.

It started out as a little game idea I had.  I’d download this game making program call Adventure Game Studio and…

What’s that?

You saying if writer guy wants to write his novel, he should do less video game playing and even less video game making?

That’s a fair cop.  I excused it because it’s a creative endeavor and one creative endeavor sometimes leads to another.  It helped when I was fooling around with Neverwinter Nights 1 and 2‘s vastly superior game making engine.  And it’s helped here.  My attempts at making a game lead to what I thought was (and still think is) an excellent story idea.

See, this young man wakes up in an empty room.  He has no memory of how he got there and little memory of the night before.  The only thing he knows is that he doesn’t want to be where he is.  And as he’s gaining his bearings, he notices that the room has a sign that reads: “Best not be here when He comes.”

Thus the basic plot of the story is an escape attempt from a house (which proves larger than he suspects).  Along the way he meets other characters whom want out as well, all the while avoiding the monstrous He who resides in the house.  While he does so, he begins to realize that his situation is far worse than he first imagined.  The He who owns the house wants the protagonist dead; the person who put him in the house in the first place wants protagonist’s soul.

Now, I know how the story starts, and I know… well, not how it ends, but the epilogue to the story.  I just need to trace away to that.  I have a character or two who I find interesting, the concept seems sound.  As a plus, I think it can handle a 50,000 word limit better than most plots (meaning it can be finished in a month).

It’s just not ready to move forward, is all.  And, not wanting to push it, I’m putting it on a back burner.  Letting the idea mellow.

Which, for what it’s worth, is a set of sentences that describes all of my novels.  Including the NaNoWriMo ones.

Hi ho.

What I’m doing now is writing an actual, honest to Betsy novel outline to another idea (this one springing from a game I tried making with Neverwinter Nights 1‘s game maker).  I’m not going to talk about it here just yet, but when and if I get it finished, I think might be The One.  It’s based on fever thoughts I had during last year’s illness fiasco.  Then I had the whole thing written in my head, but, as it’s a fever thought, a lot of it needs reworking.  Still, it has a beginning, a sort of middle, and an actual, honest to God end.  An outline right now might hammer it out to the point I can write it.

And the best part is that it’s not indebted to Tolkien or Lovecraft or Dungeons and Dragons.  It’s all coming out of my pointy little head.

Assuming, of course, I finish the outline.

Cause I’ve been scoring so well on those projects, too.

I can’t help but snicker at myself at this point.  Here is yet another one of Cullen’s pipe dream posts.  Sure, things are going to change.  Sure, I’m going to buckle down and do it.  Right.  Just like the other thousands of times I did it.

Depressing, yes?

Here’s the thing.  The one and only time I asked a girl out when I was a teenager, I did so mainly because I missed an opportunity with another girl.  I traveled to Alaska once on my own to do a job surrounded by my greatest fear.  I have gone from a guy who would rather sit silently in a corner to a guy who would rather sit silently in a corner, but will also start up conversations with utter strangers.  And can, on occasion, make said strangers laugh.

I can change.  I’ve done it before.  I believe I can change again.

I will change.  More than the “drop-dead-of-old-age” kind of change.

This is not Sisyphus rolling a rock up a hill.

I can do this.

I will do this.

All that’s left to be determined is whether or not this will be the Great Change.  The writer change.  The fulfill my childhood dreams change.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a novel outline to write.

2 Replies to “The Last CulNoWriMo Post, or Positive Thinking, or How I Gave Up Writing a Reply to Another Post and Instead Created a New Post As a Reply Instead”

  1. Of course you can do it. I’ve known you can do it since I was 7 and you were 9. You’ve always had great ideas.

    I suggest following Stephen King’s advice from On Writing rather than the NaNoWriMo angle. Start writing. Write 2,000 words (give or take a couple hundred) every day. Take only one day off a week, if you like. Oncve you sit down to write, don’t get up again until you’ve done your 2,000 words. Don’t worry about the outline – you have your beginning, middle, and outcome… and, more importantgly, you have a fantastically cool situation:

    What if a man woke up without his memories in a house from hell?

    Which is cool. Very, very cool. I would love to read that.

    1. I plan on going back to that soon. The one I’m working on now, though is really neat.

      Actually, I think you’re right. Most of my ideas are neat.

      So are yours. Which is why you should be working on a Essence novel.

      Damn it.

Leave a Reply

