Time Sink! Watching Anime, Cartoons, Whatever

So, wither the Cullmeister? The Cullster? The Cullorama?

Beats the hell out of me.  I don’t use any of those names.

But I’ve been watching.  Oh yeah.  Been watching real good. Been watching….

Oh wait.  It’s in the title, isn’t it?  No need to pretend I’m doing something I’m not.

Let me write a few words about What I’ve been watching.


Avatar: The Last Airbender is a Nickelodeon cartoon done in an Anime style.  It’s the story of Aang, a twelve year old boy whose been frozen in ice for over a hundred years.  When revived, he discovers not only has his world almost been conquered by the evil Fire Lord, but the damage becomes permanent if the Avatar doesn’t beat the Fire Lord by the end of summer.  Unfortunately for Aang, he’s the Avatar.

This is an excellent series, full of action and humor.  It’s for kids (obviously), but I’ve enjoyed it immensely so far.  Well worth checking out if you haven’t already. (as if this writing, it’s playing on Netflix.)


Full Metal Panic, however, I haven’t enjoyed quite as well.  A paramilitary group (armed with robotic suits known as Arm Slaves) wants to protect a High School for… some reason or another.  Three sergeants find themselves assigned to watch over her.

One episode and I feel nothing for any of the characters.  Well, one of the sergeants I like, but she’s not the main character.  I might try it again later, but on this first blush I’m just glad I haven’t bought it.  (As of this writing it’s playing subtitled on Hulu.)


House of Seven Corpses tells the tale of a movie crew who accidentally raise an undead killer.  While this looks promising, I haven’t been able to get into it yet.  Which is problematic, considering I wanted to review it for the sister site.

Oh well, Giant Monster Gamera took forever for me to review and look how great an experience that was.

Heh.


While we’re talking time sinks, I’m also playing two video games:  Red Dead Redemption, the story of John Marston’s hunt for his former partners, and 3D Dot Heroes, the story of a group of game designers begging to be sued by as many Console RPG makers as possible.

I’m only kinda joking here with that last one.  3D starts with The Legend of Zelda as it’s base, then throws in as many moments and characters from other games it can think of, including (but not limited to) the Dragon Quest Series.  As it’s poking fun at them (a little; it’s also an homage), it’s all good.  Especially since the game itself is excellent.

Red Dead, on the other hand, is a bit more serious.  It’s Grand Theft Auto set in the Wild Wild West, with the ability to play either as a guy trying to follow the straight and narrow or a desperado wanted throughout the state.  I’m loving it to death.


Also, I’m working on some of the stories I wrote about a little while ago, working on new stories, and (hopefully) taking steps to restart the comic.

So it’s not all me wasting my life.

Kinda.

Maybe.

If I’m lucky.

Which I’m not.

Well, I do have my health.

Such as it is.

But I could use a girlfriend.

But not a clingy psycho.

Or a doorstop.

But you can’t have everything.

Right?

Right.

Leave a Reply

