I haven’t been doing these Passing’ things for a while, mainly because it started feeling ghoulish, but this…  This couldn’t pass without some comment.

From the Yahoo article comes this comment:


“No joke. King of Pop is no more. Wow,” Michael Harris, 36, of New York City, read from a text message a friend sent to his telephone. “It’s like when Kennedy was assassinated. I will always remember being in Times Square when Michael Jackson died.”


It sounds a bit over the top, doesn’t it?  But I think it’s true.

I was sitting in front of the hospital where my mom works when I heard. I read it as a text message, and the phone slipped out of my hands as soon as I read the words “Michael Jackson is dead.”

Brother Eric and I listened to Thriller over and over again as kids.

I once tried to break dance to one of his songs.

He was only fifty years old.  Fifty.

The article says he was staging a comeback.  And he would have done it.  I’m sure of it.

He was a strange, troubled man, but for whatever reason, I never stopped liking him, never stopped hoping for him.

The King of Pop is dead.  My God, the King of Pop is dead.

One thought on “Michael Jackson

  1. It’s so sad to hear about Michael Jackson. As a dancer, I’ve performed almost every one of his hits in some form or another. A lot of celebrities have died recently, but he’s the first one that had a big impact on my life personally. It’s a really weird feeling. Anyway, nice post. 😉

Leave a Reply

