Welltun Cares Presents Presents: The Blog Tutorial (I) – Bare Basics

My Dad has gone super-political on me.  The current political climate disturbs him and he wants a place to voice his displeasure.  Thus, like so many others, he has started a blog.  It’s called Kip’s Korner.

Now he’s got the will and the mind to do this.  Problem is, he’s not up to speed with the functions here at Word Press.  I went through them once with him, but that didn’t quite take.  Dunno what was wrong with my teaching method; I used a cattle prod and everything.

While Word Press no doubt has a fully functional set of tutorials on how to blog, I feel it my sonly duty to help him out.  Thus for the next few days or so I’m talking about how to do the various tasks around the blog so that dad has a place he knows how to get to (and hopefully trusts) to help him out.  The series will continue up until he runs out of questions or I get every last post.

Fun.

For most of the readers here, all of this is old hat and potentially boring.  I hope you plow through it, though, as I might get a point wrong or overlook something obvious (shocking confession, I know.)  To make it worth your while, I intend to write this things up in the wit and humor you’ve come to expect from this site.

To the woman who just shrieked when I suggest I’d use wit, that’s quite enough.  It wasn’t funny the first time.  I still have the cattle prod and I know how to use it.

At least I think I do.  The memory of that whole teaching with the prod thing’s kind of fuzzy for some reason.

While doing this, I’m going to assume Dad knows almost nothing about anything.  Not quite true – he does know how to cut and paste and more – but it makes sure I don’t skip a point.

For instance, let me explain the term “highlighting”.  When you’re cutting and pasting, you click and hold the left mouse button.  While doing that, drag the mouse across the words you want.  A colored box should appear on the screen over the words.  To stop, release the left mouse button.  The box should remain.

Everything in this box is considered “highlighted”.  Okay?

God.  I feel like I’m talking down to my Father.  I’m going to hell, aren’t I?  Straight to hell.

Brr.

This out of the way, let’s look at some of the buttons on display at the Add New Post page.  We won’t cover all of them today (why finish a task today when you can drag it out for months?).  Just a few of the more basic functions.

tutorial-13

A lot of red, isn’t there?  Let’s hit them all, starting with the top.

The first white  box, the one directly underneath Add New Post is the Title Bar (Word Press might call it something different, but humor me, okay?)  This is where the title of the post goes.  Easy peasy, right?  Well, sort of.  The Title Bar has no spell check, so you wanna be careful with your spelling.

Below the Title Bar is a little bit of nonsense that says permalink, followed by a web address.  Ignore it for right now, but what that shows is where your post will be located on the web when you post it.  You can change portions of it (note the Edit button near by), but we’ll meddle with that at a later time.

After the permalink comes the Upload/Insert buttons.  Like the permalink, we’ll build a bridge to the knowledge later.  When you want to upload images and the like to your blog, here is where you go.

On the same general line as the Upload/Insert buttons you’ll see two tabs, reading Visual and HTML.  All you need to do is make sure the Visual tab is in black and the HTML is in gray.  There will be a noticeable difference in how the Add New Post page looks depending on which one is black and which is gray.  Just left click on the tabs to switch between the two.  The above image is that of Visual.  It’s what we’re talking about today.

Next line after that has a whole series of buttons.  We’ll only talk about a few today.

The first three buttons are the Bold button, the Italic button, and the Strikethrough button.  If you want to alter the appearance of your text, you should first highlight the text (as described above, remember?) then click the style you want.  Examples are as follows.

  • To get text that looks like this, highlighting the desired text then click the B (for bold) button.
  • To get text that looks like this, highlighting the desired text then click the I (for italic) button.
  • To get text that looks like this, ohighlighting the desired text then click the ABC button.  Why didn’t they make it an S (for strikethrough) button?  Beats me.  Maybe just to make it look distinctive.

Now, what do you do when you have used bold or italic or strikethrough on a word accidently?  Didn’t think of that, did you?  Thought everything you’d do would be perfect, right?  Huh?

Correcting it is ease.  Just follow the same steps as if you wanted to make it the way it is.  Highlight, then click the button you don’t want it to be.  Simple, no?

We have three buttons next to the Bold, Italic, and Strikethrough buttons.  Skip ’em.  We’ll talk about them later.  (Later, always later!)  Look instead at the three buttons composed of all lines.  They are, in order, the Align Left, Align Center, and the Align Right buttons.  Examples would be as follows.

This is align left

This is align center.

This is align right.

You can highlight your paragraphs then click the desired Align button, or you can just click once where the paragraph is, then the Align button.  Not even a problem.

Now you might note that not only does my text here has even margins and an indent.  The margins can be done wit the Align Full button (I call it Justify in the image; same thing, really.)  Indenting, however, deals with that HTML Tab I mentioned.  Gasp!  Horrors!  Well, not really.  But I have enough on the plate as is today.  We’ll do it… you’ve guessed it… LATER!

Go back to the image I posted for a second.  There you should see another row of buttons below the ones I just described.  You may not have this row on your Add New Post page.  Does this make me some special Blogging Demi-God?

Nope.  That’s a whole ‘nother deal.  For you, too, have this row.  It is just hiden from view.  To get it (or to hide it again) go to the button almost below the HTML tab.  The funny keyboard sort of button.  That’s it.  That’s, I kid you not, the Kitchen Sink button.

Well call the row opened by the Kitchen Sink Button the Kitchen Row.  A lot of goodness there, but we won’t bother with that stuff.  I just want to point out two more style options.  Button with the U on it is the Underline Button.  It’s used just like the Bold button and it’s siblings.  Next to it is a line button.  This is the aformentioned  Align Full button .

Now below all of that is this huge white box.  Dad already knows that this is the Post Body, where you put your post.  He also knows that pushing the blue Publish Button on the right side of the page puts the post up on the blog.  With the information here, he should hopefully be well on his way to being a Blog Master like his Eldest Son.  Yay Dad!

But there is more to cover.  So much more.  Makes my head spin just thinking about it.  Tomorrow I’ll try to detail the following Blogging Technics:  Links in text, Editing your Post, and Make Categories.  There’s probably a better way of handling this, but this is some of the things Dad asked about, and as I’m doing this for him, it behooves me to do it this way.

Hopefully we can have even more fun then.

Leave a Reply

