Ain’t He Unglamo-rays?*

Just in case you thought things were going to pot around here, let me tell you how bad things really are getting. Today, with the assistance of UPS, I received The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Collection. Which means that there’s a good chance you’re going to get a few comic reviews.

It can’t be helped.

But until that glorious day, here are a few thoughts:

  • I bought the Hulk collection because I had such fun with the Spider-man collection. And while I am enjoying myself… it’s just not as much. From Tales to Astonish #60 to where I am now (The Incredible Hulk #105… more or less) it’s one continuous story. And a repetitious on at that. Hulk fights bad guy, turns into Banner, turns back into Hulk, repeat. I’m not sorry I got the collection, I’m not quitting reading. It’s just the Hulk isn’t as interesting as Spidey.

    Well duh.
  • You don’t want to go against the Hulk. You’ll end up dead. The Leader, a cat named Boomerang, the Beast-man, even the Rhino. All die. (Some of them get better; it is a Superhero comic, after all…)
  • With this collection, I received whole issues of Tales to Astonish. Thus, for the first time I’ve read the adventures of Giant Man and the wondrous Wasp.
    God are they dull.
  • There’s one Betty too many in the Marvel Universe. At least as far as Stan Lee is concerned. When He’s witting the Hulk, there is a better than even chance he’ll call Betty Ross Betty Brant. (No wonder Brant dumped Peter Parker; how could he compete with either Banner or the Hulk…)
  • They have a nasty habit of ending issues with “Hulk-inued”. Each time they do, a little piece of my soul dies.

* Hey, don’t blame me. I didn’t write the lyrics.

3 Replies to “Ain’t He Unglamo-rays?*”

  1. I watched those shows when I was ten years old (quite faithfully, I might add). To this day, I remember the days they came on:
    Monday: Captain America (Little Interest)
    Tuesday: The Incredible Hulk (My Favorite)
    Wednesday: Iron Man (Not Bad)
    Thursday: Thor (Little Interest)
    Friday: Submariner (Fish on Friday, I guess)

Leave a Reply

