Billie Joe MacAllister Jumped Off the Tallahatchie Bridge

I don’t have a copy of Ode To Billie Joe where I can listen to it regularly. I’m not sure I want to. Something about the music, something about the song’s story, unnerves me. Even now, writing this, I can feel a little knot in my belly. Having said this, I can tell you that, were the song to pop up on the radio, I wouldn’t change the channel. Instead, I would listen and think and wonder. It’s a very spooky song, and if it’s not the best song to come out of the late sixties, then it’s damn close.

Again, I say it’s a spooky song, but it’s not a Horror story in the conventional sense. Nothing supernatural materializes or is even suggest. No one is threatened in anyway by anyone. In fact, the main action has already taken place before the song begins. Billie Joe MacAllister jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge, and isn’t it a shame. The incident is mere fodder for discussion at a family’s dinner. However, unbeknown to the rest of the table, one of the family members is deeply affected by the news.

Simple really.

What gives Ode To Billie Joe its power is that its writer, Bobbie Gentry, tells us only the most basic details. We know that there is a connection between the narrator and Billie Joe, and that Billie Joe and a girl who looked like the narrator (was the narrator) were seen dropping something off the Tallahatchie Bridge. But we never learn just what happened. Why did Billie Joe jump?

Those old enough to remember when the song came out could tell us that there was no end of speculation on the matter. Gentry herself had no opinion on the matter. To her, the important part was how the family casually discussed Billie Joe’s death, unaware of what harm their words had. The why, in the end, isn’t what the song is about.

Gentry is, of course, right. But it is this unknown element is what gives the song it’s power. It invites the listener to come up with their own explanations. Some may be prosaic. Some maybe grim. Some maybe even be wrongheaded. They are all right. They are all wrong.

What do I think caused Billie Joe to take his fateful step off the Tallahatchie Bridge? I’m not going to say, because, in truth, I don’t know. I don’t want to know.

I will speculate with you though. I believe that every thing in a story matters, whether in setting the mood or in understanding the plot. With that in mind, learning that the narrator and Billie Joe were dropping something off the Tallahatchie Bridge isn’t just something to connect the two. It is a key moment in their relationship. More, it has to have some connection to his death.

If we were to agree that this moment has meaning, then two possibilities emerge:

  1. Billie Joe’s death is the result of this moment. Whatever they dropped off the bridge, Billie Joe couldn’t live with the act.

  2. It is the breech of a promise, the end of hope. What they dropped was a symbol of change for both of them. Let’s say, for the example’s sake, that it sealed a promise that the two of them made to leave their stifling home lives forever. Billie’s death, therefore, symbolizes the end of the narrator’s dream of being free, of moving away like her brother ultimately does.

Me being me, I lean towards the former over the latter. For me, it darkens the already dark tale.

Whether you agree with me or not, whether I am right or not, there is one thing that’s inescapable. While the narrator believes, in the end, that she goes to the bridge to drop flowers into the river, she really isn’t.

For in all ways that matters, she always at the Bridge, at that one moment in time. And she will never.

Ever.

Leave.

It’s not a conventional Horror story. It’s Southern Gothic. It’s something that might happen to any of us, at any time. And like a good Horror story, it lingers long after the last note fades away.

21 thoughts on “Billie Joe MacAllister Jumped Off the Tallahatchie Bridge”

  1. Speaking of horror stories: I had a small problem writing this thing. I kept wanting to write “Billy” instead of “Billie”. Gah! Gah I say!

    I think I got ‘em all right, but GEEZ!

  2. You’re absolutely right about the point of the song. It was more of a cultural statement than an actual horror narrative. There was a movie made about the song that speculated what went on behind the lyrics. My impression (when the song first came out) was that they had thrown a body off the bridge. It could have been anyone (there was no real backstory given in the song. I have since speculated that it may have been an infant that was thrown off the bridge.

  3. I can’t say I’m an expert on Southern Gothic, but the other story I read in the subgenre – A Rose For Emily – is also quite good. It would no doubt behoove me to read up on the subject.

    Thanks for the comment.

  4. Hmm. You should try listening to Nick Cave’s Murder Ballads CD. :-) I’ve never heard Ode To Billie Joe but it sounds like the sort of gothic thing I would like.

  5. I’ve listened to the song over and over and what if Billie Joe was a female and they took it as 2 men for the movie. I wish there was more evidence to this theory but i can’t really find any at this point. Please if anyone finds something about this E-mail me at bradatwater2001@yahoo.com and make the subject Billie Joe if you would thank you and hope to hear something.

  6. I would recommend the short story “A good man is hard to find” by Flannery O’Connor for agreat (and disturbing) southern Gothic horror .

  7. It was the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day
    I was out choppin’ cotton and my brother was balin’ hay
    And at dinner time we stopped and walked back to the house to eat
    And Mama hollered out the back door “y’all remember to wipe your feet”
    And then she said “I got some news this mornin’ from Choctaw Ridge”
    “Today Billy Joe MacAllister jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge”

    And Papa said to Mama as he passed around the blackeyed peas
    “Well, Billy Joe never had a lick of sense, pass the biscuits, please”
    “There’s five more acres in the lower forty I’ve got to plow”
    And Mama said it was shame about Billy Joe, anyhow
    Seems like nothin’ ever comes to no good up on Choctaw Ridge
    And now Billy Joe MacAllister’s jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge

    And Brother said he recollected when he and Tom and Billie Joe
    Put a frog down my back at the Carroll County picture show
    And wasn’t I talkin’ to him after church last Sunday night?
    “I’ll have another piece of apple pie, you know it don’t seem right”
    “I saw him at the sawmill yesterday on Choctaw Ridge”
    “And now you tell me Billie Joe’s jumped off the Tallahatchie Bridge”

    And Mama said to me “Child, what’s happened to your appetite?”
    “I’ve been cookin’ all morning and you haven’t touched a single bite”
    “That nice young preacher, Brother Taylor, dropped by today”
    “Said he’d be pleased to have dinner on Sunday, oh, by the way”
    “He said he saw a girl that looked a lot like you up on Choctaw Ridge”
    “And she and Billy Joe was throwing somethin’ off the Tallahatchie Bridge”

    A year has come ‘n’ gone since we heard the news ’bout Billy Joe
    And Brother married Becky Thompson, they bought a store in Tupelo
    There was a virus going ’round, Papa caught it and he died last Spring
    And now Mama doesn’t seem to wanna do much of anything
    And me, I spend a lot of time pickin’ flowers up on Choctaw Ridge

    And drop them into the muddy water off the Tallahatchie Bridge

  8. No, it wasn’t a baby they threw off the bridge. It was just a rag doll Bobbie Lee was saving in a trunk-hers as a child. I ordered this movie and watch it over and over. One of my many favorites. I really liked Robby Benson.

  9. I have done a little more research and the movie is not based on the songwriters explination. so the rag doll means nothing this is the filmwriters interpretation. What was thrown into the river was more personal to the two of them. I ‘believe’ it was their aborted baby. the narators father did not approve of Billie Joe, so she did not want to have the baby. Billie could not live with the guilt……

  10. Cullen, I realy liked your interpretation.
    I have this question, which I never see asked about this song and its characters: Who in the heck was ‘that nice young preacher Brother Taylor’ and why did he stop by out of the clear blue sky to tell Mama about the singer and Billie Joe throwing something off of the bridge? Was he fishing for information? Did he suspect something? Is he interested in the singer and wants to make sure she wasn’t involved with Billie Joe? Nothing is mentioned about any other topic of conversation but that. Then Mama invites him to dinner, and he says he’d be ‘pleased’ to come. Why?

  11. the reason billie jo macallister jumped offthe tallahatchie bring was because he threw a babyover the bridge and couldnt live with himself so he threw himself over too.

  12. Yes, the song is based on a real person. The real reason why he jumped off was because he was raped by another man. I cannot remember the man’s name who raped him, but I do know of someone who went to school with him and knows the details. He’s the person that told me and another person that knew him well told me the exact same thing. Sad that he died that way, couldn’t live with the guilt.

  13. HI IF YOU HAD WATCHED THE MOVIE, BILLY JOE JUMPED BECAUSE HE WAS DRUNK ONE NIGHT AND HAD SEX WITH A MAN, WHICH BE SAYS ITS A SIN

Leave a Reply

