The Upcoming Halloween Remake

(It happens every time. I go off and say I have nothing to say, and the gates creak open again. Dunno if I wanna laugh or cry…)

Brother Todd came up to me the other day and asked me, “You hear about the Halloween remake?”

Had I heard about the Halloween remake. “Yeah. Rob Zombie‘s doing it. It’s not going to be as good. How could it, without Donald Pleasence or Jamie Lee Curtis?”

“I dunno. He’s improved as a director. The Devil’s Rejects was much better than House of a Thousand Corpses.”

For all I know, that’s like saying Touch of Satan is better than Cathy’s Curse. I allowed that there was a possibility, but, frankly, I didn’t see how it was possible.

Today, I heard about Zombie’s MySpace page for the movie and toddled over there. And what do my wondering eyes see but Malcolm McDowell listed as playing Dr. Loomis.

Now I know I heard that he was taking over Pleasence’s part, but it didn’t click until I saw him there.

I can’t see him in the role.

I really can’t.

It’s not because I don’t think McDowell is a good actor. I can’t see Peter Cushing or Christopher Lee in the role either, and, according to legend, they had been asked about the part before Pleasence.

It’s just that, for me, that role is all Pleasence. it’s his Van Helsing, his Dracula, to go back to the two Hammer Veterans for a moment. Others can try, but there can be only one.

Having said that, this is the first remake in a while that I really want to see. I mean, Malcolm McDowell! Playing a good guy! How often does that happen? He’ll be interesting to watch. And, again, Zombie is directing. He’s at the very least a Horror Director and not just some hack trying to cut a break into Hollywood.

We shall see what we shall see.

One Reply to “The Upcoming Halloween Remake”

Leave a Reply

