Okay, here’s a writer to look out for, or, rather, here’s a name for Cullen to look out for. Henry Kuttner. Wrote a story called “The Graveyard Rats”. Worth looking into.

I saw “The Graveyard Rats” as a part of Trilogy of Terror 2 and rather enjoyed it. Of course, any show that makes the rats in Talons of Weng-Chiang look realistic gets bonus points from me. But it made me want to read the orignal.

On this, you see some of the names claiming him as an influence. Marion Zimmer Bradley. Roger Zelazny. Ray Bradbury. Richard Matheson! Now that’s someone to check out.

6 thoughts on “Memo to Self: Henry Kuttner

  1. Small world. I was just on Beckoning Chasm’s blog reading about the exact same thing. I think I’m going to have to add this one to The List (of books I want to read, but it will take me about 6 years to get round to buying).

    I posted this twice on different posts, cos I’m slightly drunk…

  2. Kuttner, as I recall, started out as a Lovecraftian type horror author (publishing in Weird Tales), but then moved into science fiction. SF is probably where he best made his mark.

    He’s written a handful of classics worth seeking out.

  3. Future note: I just picked up a copy of “The Unspeakable People” by Peter Haining on Amazon for $5. It’s an anthology that includes “The Graveyard Rats”. Looking forward to reading it. Thanks guys.

Leave a Reply

