Oh Power Girl!

Power Girl

I have no idea why I like Power Girl. None at all.

I hadn’t even heard of her before this year. Part of this was because she is a DC character and I’ve been big on Marvel for a long time. Even when I did dabble in that part of comicdom, I stuck with my main man Batman. Power Girl hangs with this group called the JSA, and sometimes, the Birds of Prey. My path didn’t cross with her once.

And yet, now I can’t get enough of her. I’ve been hunting up information on her past, what she’s doing, contemplating drawing sketches. It’s depressing, it’s sad.

It’s comic nerd love.

I’m so embarrassed.

I wasn’t like this in my younger days. As a kid I watched Wonder Woman (even had a comic) and the Bionic Woman (even had a comic). When Spider-woman had her cartoon I watched that (and, natch, had a comic or two). Outside of that I was only interested in Spider-man and the Hulk.

Power GirlAs a young teen, my interest grew to a degree. I liked Scarlet Witch, Wasp, Black Cat, Dagger, and, of course, She-Hulk. However, only when they appeared in Spider-man. I never went seeking them out. I never developed a desire to write stories about their super heroic adventures.

Power Girl, now. Power Girl’s different.

I don’t know why I started looking up information on her. I remember the first picture I saw her in, though. The one at right. And I’m certain that it isn’t the standard male reason for interest in her character, either. Although, as I have read, Power Girl’s… assets have always been one of her big claims to fame.

It was just the dialogue, I guess. A sort of innocence despite the more than a little revealing costume. Like she didn’t know quite how stunning she was.

As I’ve found out, this was a bit of mischaracterization. In truth Power Girl is well aware of her body and the effect it had on the common man. And responds in a depressingly stereotypical display of anger at the rudeness her beauty brings out.

Still, there is potential with the character, especially when you considerer that, when she first appeared, she was an alternate universe version of Supergirl. I keep seeing her as a tom girl Supergirl to the reap one’s more straight laced, more Superman-like character.Power Girl

I realize, of course, that there is a new Supergirl comic out there. And, no doubt, she won’t be as straight-laced as she was, nor will Power Girl lose the more annoying bits of her character, although from what little I’ve seen of her more recent appearances, she seems more my speed of attitude. However, no matter what is going on for her or what will become of her character, I can’t help but think of stories for her.

So along with my own various works, I’m thinking up Power Girl stories. As well as Spider-man stories. And Doctor Who Stories. And Godzilla stories.

(Especially Spider-man/Power Girl crossovers…. And… And… And this is all too sad.)

Power Girl and her likeness all belong to DC

6 Replies to “Oh Power Girl!”

  1. Well, give her a whirl on the drawing board. I’d like to see it.

    Um…I mean draw her. Of course.

    I say, those are distracting.

    She reminds me a lot of a gal I went to college with, lo those many centuries ago. Sweetest kid you could ever meet, totally unaware of her effect on the male animal.

Leave a Reply

